What Candies Are Gluten-Free?

Those following a strict gluten-free diet don’t have to limit their candy consumption. In fact, many brands offer scrumptious gluten-free candies (some of which may come as a surprise). But which candies are entirely gluten-free and ready to eat?

There is a surprisingly long list of gluten-free candies. However, it is always best to double-check ingredient labels to ensure they’re safe. Some of the top gluten-free candies include certain Hershey, Jelly Belly, See’s, Smarties, and Sour Patch products.

Hey! Michelle here. I’m a home baker who loves candy, whether making it or buying it at the store. I’m not personally gluten-free, but many of my friends are. That said, I know which candies are gluten-free. After all, a girl’s night wouldn’t be complete without some candy, right?

Keep reading to find out the yummy candies that are gluten-free!

Top 5 Gluten-Free Candies

It may come as a surprise, but many candies are 100% gluten-free. So, if going gluten-free is a new venture, don’t panic. You can likely still munch on your favorite candies (even if that means noshing on some late-night treats).

Note: Yes, these candies are labeled gluten-free, but it is imperative to double-check the packaging before consuming. Recipes are constantly changing, and a treat that’s safe today might not be tomorrow. Always play it safe!

1. Hershey’s

When it comes to big names in the candy world, Hershey’s is no stranger. Actually, it’s likely the first name that creeps into your mind when you think about candies. 

Founded in 1894, Hershey’s has remained a staple in the candy department. They offer a wide range of iconic candies, whether you want to eat an adorable “Kiss” on Valentine’s Day or plunge into an exhilarating peppermint patty.

Luckily, many of Hershey’s candies are 100% gluten-free, including:

  • PayDay
  • SKOR Toffee Bars
  • Dark Chocolate Peppermint Patties 
  • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar with or without Almonds (1.55, 1.45-ounce only)
  • Hershey’s Kisses
  • Hershey’s Nuggets
  • Hershey’s Milk Duds 
  • Reese’s Fast Break Bar
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – All Except Seasonal Shaped Items
  • Reese’s Pieces Candy – All Except Reese’s Pieces Eggs
  • HEATH Milk Chocolate English Toffee Candy Bar (1.4, 8.4-ounce, and six-pack)
  • And many more!

2. Jelly Belly

Are you someone who can’t get enough Jelly Beans in your life? Then I have great news for you – you don’t have to give them up.

Jelly Belly makes over 150 different candies and has been around since 1869. Almost everyone has tried one of their delectable candies in their lifetime. 

Only a couple of their products are not safe for gluten-free diets. These candies include:

  • Chocolate Malt Balls
  • Chocolate Deluxe Mix
  • Seasonal Malt Balls
  • Licorice Bridge Mix
  • Licorice Pastels

Nothing else is off-limits as long as you avoid these items from Jelly Belly. So go ahead and enjoy your favorite Jelly Belly products!

3. See’s

If you’ve ever stepped foot into a See’s candy shop, you know the true meaning of happiness.

No, but in all seriousness, there is nothing quite like a box of See’s candy, especially if it comes from that special someone in your life.

Oh, and did I mention that almost all of their products are gluten-free?

Only a small number of items are not safe for gluten-free diets because they are made in a factory containing gluten-containing ingredients. These candies include:

  • Candy Canes
  • Peanut Butter Bites
  • Lemon Drops
  • Apple Pie Bites
  • Hanukkah Hard Candy
  • Hot Cocoa
  • Chocolate-covered Coffee Beans 

4. Smarties

Let’s face it – Smarties have been a part of our lives since 1949, and we can’t get enough of this company’s candies. Whether squished into a pinata or on our laps at a movie theater, nothing satisfies even the interest sweet tooth quite like a Smarties candy.

And they’re gluten-free.

Smarties’ lineup of products is gluten-free. This includes crowd favorites like Giant Smarties, Original Smarties, Smarties Candy Money, and Smarties Mega Lollies.

However, the company claims that some of its products are manufactured in a center containing gluten. So, double-check the packaging. If the UPC starts with “0 11206,” you’re good to go. (Who said it isn’t fun to be an investigator occasionally?)

5. Sour Patch

OK, so I’ve added multiple options to this list so far. There are Hershey’s and See’s for the chocolate fanatics, Jelly Belly for the jelly bean connoisseurs, and Smarties for those who can’t get enough of that flavor that sends you back to your childhood.

Don’t think I have forgotten about you sour-loving candy aficionados, though!

The following Sour Patch candies are 100% safe to add to your gluten-free lifestyle:

  • Sour Patch Kids
  • Sour Patch Xtreme
  • Sour Patch Xploderz
  • Sour Patch Watermelon
  • Swedish Fish

Go ahead and enjoy these candies – just make sure you have some water nearby!


I told you there are plenty of yummy candies you can enjoy as a gluten-free person! Before you gobble up some gluten-free candies, I suggest checking out these frequently asked questions. There’s more to learn below, folks!

What candy is 100% gluten-free?

Besides the candies mentioned above, here are some other 100% gluten-free favorites to enjoy: 3 Musketeers, M&Ms (except the pretzel, crispy, and specific holiday varieties), Milky Way Midnight and Caramel, Dove (except Milk Chocolate Cinnamon Graham and Cookies and Cream), Snickers, Baby Ruth, Butterfinger (not Crisp or Giant bars), and Laffy Taffy.

Are M&M’s gluten-free?

M&Ms are one of my favorite candies, and they can be one of your favorites, too, considering they’re gluten-free. However, it’s important to note that some M&Ms are not gluten-free. These include pretzel M&MS, crispy M&Ms, and specific holiday varieties. That said, check the label before eating holiday M&Ms. 

How can you tell if candy has gluten in it?

The easiest way to identify whether or not candy contains gluten is to check the list of ingredients. If the product contains wheat, rye, or barley, it’s unsafe for gluten diets. Always check labels, as ingredient lists can change sporadically, and you want to stay safe.

Who’s Ready for Some Gluten-Free Candy?

Although it may come as a surprise, there are so many wonderful candies that are entirely gluten-free and safe for gluten-free lifestyles. Whether you enjoy the decadent flavors of a See’s chocolate piece or prefer something more vibrant and wowing, like Smarties or Sour Patch kids, you can enjoy them. Just make sure you double-check the labels before consuming.

What is your favorite gluten-free candy? Do you have any you’d like to add to this list? Let’s hear it in the comment section below!

About Michelle
I have been a lover of sweets since day one. This led me on a self-taught baking journey starting at the age of 13. It's been over 10 years since the start of my baking adventures, and I’ve learned a lot along the way. Now, people rave about my delectable treats, whether it’s a chocolate cake or a strawberry crepe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *